Day 29 – Ramadan and Understanding

It’s very hard to understand people. Just when you think you have someone figured out, they change, things change or how you see them change, either way.. it sucks. Sometimes I wish I could just freeze time at a single point and understand people around me and have them fixed at that constant so I wouldn’t have to keep figuring things out. But obviously I can’t do that, nor can I apply the same concept to religion.

Every time I am complacent with my deen, it has a way of slapping me awake. Ramadan was one such wake up call. I could complete a whole recitation in less than thirty days but not another one in 335 days? I could wake up at 4:30 to watch the world cup but not to pray Fajr?

Narrated Abu Huraira: The Prophet said, “Religion is very easy and whoever overburdens himself in his religion will not be able to continue in that way. So you should not be extremists, but try to be near to perfection and receive the good tidings that you will be rewarded; and gain strength by worshipping in the mornings, the nights.” (See Fath-ul-Bari, Page 102, Vol 1). [Bukhari Volume 1, Book 2, Number 38]

That is the best advice I’ve heard about religion. Ever. And it’s applicable to life in general as well. Try too hard and you’re bound to step on someone’s toes or fall short of someone’s expectations. You cannot please everyone. Instead try and be near to perfection and don’t overburden yourself. If you live life constantly wondering what other people think about you, then you haven’t lived at all. Set your own expectations, pray to Allah swt to guide you and help you live up to them. As Lucian said,   “Realise that true happiness lies within you.”

Ramadan Dua: DAY 29 – O ALLAH, on this day, cover me with Your mercy, grant me in it success and protection, purify my heart from the darkness of false accusations, O the Merciful to His believing servants.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑